The Sun Also Rises

Finding a teaching job in the city in your first year out of university is almost impossible. Finding one the year after is rare. Or so they keep on telling me.

Sometimes I wonder whether the wait will be worth it. How long will I need to keep on doing ‘almost-but-not-quite-teaching’ jobs before I finally get to where I want to be? Have the last five years of study and work been done in vain? Then I think about all of the students I’ve encountered so far and the idea of having a class of my own to teach, learn from, love, support and inspire is what keeps me moving forward.

We have almost come to the end of another year, and I don’t know what the next year holds for me. It’s been a challenging year, an unpredictable year and a rewarding year, but to say that I want to go on doing the same thing in 2017 would be a lie. While I’ve learnt a lot through my year of relief teaching it’s not what I’ve worked for. I feel like I’m closer to my goal but I’m not there yet. It does disappoint me that I don’t have a contract for next year, but if I’ve learnt anything this year it is to trust the journey. Sometimes the sun sets on our dreams and plans, but there’s something else that I am sure of and that I hold fast to. The sun also rises. In time it will rise upon a new opportunity and when that time arrives I will be well prepared for it.

2 thoughts on “The Sun Also Rises

Leave a Reply

