Antlers, Dancing Snails & Speaking Dora

I’ve worked a lot in the early childhood years recently, and I find it very entertaining hearing some of the facts (or should I say ‘perceived to be facts’) that these little ones share with me. There are moments where I stop and think to myself ‘I never thought I’d hear THAT, especially while at work’ but I’m finding that those moments are becoming fewer as time goes on because, well, it simply takes a lot more to surprise me these days. I feel as though I’ve heard almost everything! So I thought I’d share some of the insightful things that have been shared with me to give you an idea of what it’s like working with 4 and 5 year-olds and to hopefully make you smile. (Please note: anything to do with sickness, boogers or toileting patterns has been filtered from this list. We’ll save that for another time.)

Did you know?

  1. Antlers are the things that stick out of ants’ heads 
  1. If you don’t get the head-lice out of your hair, they’ll start to build houses and cities and everything!
  1. If you’re not a mother and you’re not married, you must still be a kid.
  1. Ants should have the right to go to school too.
  1. Snails can’t dance because they don’t have legs.
  1. If you can say ‘Hola’ and ‘Gracias’ it means you’re speaking Dora.
  1. Harriet’s cousins are staying with her this week. They’ve visited from another world.
  1. Ellie will be having 19 kids when she grows up, but only if her tummy allows.
  1. Hope went on a holiday because she’s allergic to Australia.
  1. Miss T doesn’t know what she wants to be when she grows up.

 

If you’ve heard anything like this in your classroom, please share it with me in the comments section below!

4 thoughts on “Antlers, Dancing Snails & Speaking Dora

Leave a Reply

